Project2612

New Set: Darius

Got a new set? Wanna point something out with an old set? Wanna update an existing set? Here's your place to do it!

New Set: Darius

Postby 2ch-H » Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:48 am

2ch-H
New Around Here
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:53 pm

New Set: Darius

Postby donluca » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:45 am

Wow, thanks man, that's awesome! I've seen you've ripped the Tetris game as well.

May I ask what you used? Are you still sticking with good ol' Kega Fusion or have you transitioned to the more accurate BlastEm?
"Ask not what others can do for you, but what you can do for others"

Founder of the 16-bit audiophile project
http://16bap.theclassicgamer.net
User avatar
donluca
Been Here for a Bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:08 pm
Location: Rome

New Set: Darius

Postby 2ch-H » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:43 pm

I knew BlastEm for the first time.
I downloaded it and used it, but I couldn't find a function to output VGM.
Is there a function to output VGM to this emulator?
2ch-H
New Around Here
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:53 pm

New Set: Darius

Postby donluca » Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:42 pm

2ch-H wrote:I knew BlastEm for the first time.
I downloaded it and used it, but I couldn't find a function to output VGM.
Is there a function to output VGM to this emulator?


There must be, as it's been used to debug games and do pretty advanced stuff which go well over my competence/knowledge.

I'm a hardware guy, so I don't really use emulators and can't help you out on this, but try shooting (no pun intended) a mail to the developer, I'm sure he'll tell you how to rip VGMs from the running game.
"Ask not what others can do for you, but what you can do for others"

Founder of the 16-bit audiophile project
http://16bap.theclassicgamer.net
User avatar
donluca
Been Here for a Bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:08 pm
Location: Rome

New Set: Darius

Postby ValleyBell » Fri Nov 15, 2019 3:23 pm

"Debugging" games and "VGM logging" are completely different use cases, I'm afraid.
Having VGM support doesn't mean you also have debugging features and having debugging features doesn't mean you have VGM logging support.

In case of BlastEm, I could find a VGM player in the source code, but there is no trace of a VGM logger. You can log each YM2612 channel to a separate WAV file (probably because it's useful for debugging FM emulation issues), but that's all really.


Also, I'm afraid I forgot about this earlier, but Sonic of 8! also did a rip of this and PM'ed me this a few weeks ago:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/f7kvmpk9cx3dv8r/Darius%20%28MD%29.zip?dl=1
ValleyBell
Board Regular
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:10 am

New Set: Darius

Postby donluca » Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:10 pm

Guessed as much, although I think that the author should have no problems implementing a VGM logger, I think I've already bugged him in the past for something (at this point I think I've annoyed most of the internet community revolving around mega drive and videogame music with requests/ramblings :P ), might as well send a mail asking for it if 2ch hasn't already.

Or open a ticket on github or wherever the project is hosted at.

There are some things which are off in some of the tracks in the current p2612 sets (Sonic 3's base stage, second act, IIRC, being one of them, off the top of my head) which might be due to inaccuracies in the emulator used to do the logging.

Also, do you mind me asking you a thing via PM about QSound? I got to know you were among the ones who worked on uncovering the secrets behind the usage of QSound in CPS2 arcade hardware and wanted to ask you a thing about it, since an argument about QSound in CPS2 arose elsewhere and you were mentioned in it.
"Ask not what others can do for you, but what you can do for others"

Founder of the 16-bit audiophile project
http://16bap.theclassicgamer.net
User avatar
donluca
Been Here for a Bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:08 pm
Location: Rome

New Set: Darius

Postby ValleyBell » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:41 am

Just feel free to ask. (In general: Don't ask me whether or not you can ask. Just ask.)

Also: The only thing that could be improved by using a more accurate emulator would be playback rate of DAC samples. All other issues should be related to the trimming process. (Or in case of Rocket Knight Adventures, Fusion fixed the incorrect initialization after v3.54 - it is at 3.64 now.)
ValleyBell
Board Regular
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:10 am


Return to Set Central

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php